Pillarbox aims to bring talent together and to offer opportunities to that talent. We support creative talent in the realisation of fiction and documentary projects, and we are always actively on the lookout for talent to collaborate with on our own projects within this genre.

Thank God it’s Friday

A Palestinian village on one side, a Jewish settlement just nex to it.
For two years filmmakers Jan Beddegenoodts and Niel Iwens followed the daily life in Nabi Saleh and Halamish and so they bring an original approach to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
Thank God it’s Friday won the jury prize and the public prize at the largest South American human rights film festival in Buenos Aires, Argentina (Festival Internacional de Cine de Derechos Humanos).
 
Thank God it’s Friday is a co-production of Cameltown and Pillarbox.
More info: www.tgifdoc.com.

VAF production support for Vedi Napoli E Poi Muori

Vedi Napoli E Poi Muori, the documentary made by Simon Van Rompay with PillarBox and Dérives concerning the Borinage, has obtained production support from the VAF (Flemish Audiovisual Fund). After the earlier obtained scenario support and development support, this means that the project can definitively be realised.

Vedi Napoli E Poi Muori tells the story of Willy Dreau, a man with great dreams and wild plans. Willy bought an ancient mine site, but continues to look for its right use in the future. He often has to fight against wind mills. One day, Fréderique knocks at his door. She wants to transform the mining site into a riding-school. The documentary deals with the dreams and the setbacks of Willy and Fréderique, and at the same time tells the story of a region with a rich past, longing for hope in the future.

VAF production support for 3 journées d’Août 1914

The VAF has agreed on production support for the project ‘3 journées d’Août 1914’ which we co-produce with Dérives. It concerns a documentary in 2 parts of 90 minutes each, where André Dartevelle tells the story of 22, 23 and 24 of August 1914, the beginning of the First World War. In those 3 days some cities and villages were completely destroyed and more than 5,000 unarmed Belgians were murdered. Thanks to testimonies of children and grandchildren of the people concerned, André Dartevelle reconstructs the horror of these relatively unknown events during the First World War.

The documentary will be finished by the end of 2013, just before the beginning of the commemoration year of 2014.

Pillarbox

Address Eglantierlaan 78
2610 Antwerp
Tel +32 (0)3 825 51 91
Fax +32 (0)3 828 25 29
E-mail pillarbox@newimpact.be

Pillarbox veut fusionner les talents et (déc)ouvrir des opportunités. Nous soutenons le talent créatif dans la réalisation de fictions et de documentaires. Nous cherchons des talents en action pour nous rejoindre autour de nos propres projets en la matière.

Thank God it’s Friday

Un village palestinien d’un côté, juste à côté d’une colonie juive. Pendant deux ans, les jeunes cinéastes Jan Beddegenoodts et Niel Iwens ont suivi la vie quotidienne à Nabi Saleh et Halamish et ils apportent une approche originale du conflit israélo-palestinien. En Août 2013 Thank God it’s Friday a remporté le prix du jury et le prix du public au Festival Internacional de Cine de Derechos Humanos, à Buenos Aires, Argentine.

Thank God it’s Friday est une co-production de Cameltown et Pillarbox
Plus d’infos à www.tgifdoc.com

Support de production VAF pour Vedi Napoli E Poi Muori

Vedi Napoli E Poi Muori, le documentaire que Simon Van Rompay réalise sur le Borinage en collaboration avec PillarBox et Dérives, a obtenu un support de production du VAF (Fonds Audio-visuel Flamand). Postérieurement au support de scénario et de développement octroyé auparavant, cela signifie que le projet pourra définitivement être réalisé.

Vedi Napoli E Poi Muori raconte l’histoire de Willy Dreau, un homme aux grands rêves et aux plans sauvages. Willy acheta un ancien lieu de mines, mais continue à rechercher son utilisation correcte. C’est ici qu’il se trouve souvent en lutte avec des moulins à vent. Un jour, Fréderique frappe à sa porte. Elle veut transformer le site en manège. Le documentaire traite les rêves et les contretemps de Willy et Fréderique, et en même temps il apporte l’histoire d’une région avec un riche passé, qui aspire à un peu d’espoir pour l’avenir.

Support de production VAF pour 3 journées d’août 1914

Le VAF a octroyé le support de production pour le projet ‘3 journées d’août 1914’ dont nous faisons la coproduction avec Dérives. Il s’agit d’un documentaire en 2 parties de chacune 90 minutes, où André Dartevelle nous raconte l’histoire du 22, 23 et 24 août 1914, le début de la Première Guerre Mondiale. Pendant ces 3 journées certains villages et villes ont été complètement détruits et plus de 5.000 Belges désarmés ont été assassinés. À l’aide de témoignages d’enfants et petits-enfants des personnes concernées, André Dartevelle reconstruit l’horreur des ces événements peu connus de la Première Guerre Mondiale.

Le documentaire sera terminé avant la fin de 2013, donc avant l’année commémorative de 2014.

Pillarbox

Adresse Eglantierlaan 78
2610 Anvers
Tél +32 (0)3 825 51 91
Fax +32 (0)3 828 25 29
Email pillarbox@newimpact.be